0383

AGENDA: February 15, 2000



County of Santa Cruz

COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE

701 OCEAN STREET, SUITE 520, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95060-4073
(831) 454-2100 FAX: (831) 454-3420 TDD: (831) 454-2123
SUSAN A. MAURIELLO, J.D., COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER

January 25, 2000

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS County of Santa Cruz 701 Ocean Street Santa Cruz, CA 95060

EMPLOYEE RECOGNITION AWARDS

Dear Members of the Board:

Your Board has established the Employee Recognition Program to show public appreciation for and special recognition to outstanding employees for their service and contributions to the County. The criteria for recognition include, but are not limited to, any of the following:

- A. An employee or group of employees who solve(s) an extraordinary problem for the County;
- B. An employee or group of employees who successfully implement(s) an innovative idea;
- C. An employee or group of employees who do(es) an outstanding act which brings and/or deserves recognition to the County from the public;
- D. An employee who performs his/her work in a manner that deserves special recognition.
- E. Department Heads and Assistant Department Heads do not participate as nominees in this program.

Agenda: February 15, 2000

The nomination period was from November 15th to January 5th during which time County employees and citizens submitted nominations. The review of nominations and recommendations for awards were made by selection committees in the five categories with the following departmental groupings:

- 1. Health Health Services Agency;
- 2. Human Services Human Resources Agency;
- 3. Justice District Attorney, Courts, Probation and Sheriff-Coroner;
- 4. Land Use & Regulatory Planning, Public Works, Parks Open Spaces and Cultural Services, Agricultural Commissioner, Agricultural Extension, Redevelopment Agency, and Transportation Commission.
- 5. General Government Board of Supervisors' Office, County Administrative Office, County Counsel, Information Services, Auditor-Controller, Assessor, Treasurer-Tax Collector, County Clerk-Recorder, Personnel, General Services and Emergency Services.

Each committee met and recommended the top three candidates for a Gold, Silver or Bronze Award as indicated on Attachment I. Three monetary awards will be given in each of the five categories as follows: \$300 for Gold; \$200 for Silver; and \$100 for Bronze. The first place award or Gold Award winners names will be placed on a plaque that is displayed in the County Government Center. In addition, all employees who were nominated for an award were informed by letter of their nomination.

I am pleased to recommend that your Board present the awards and proclamations to those employees who achieved excellence in the execution of their duties and responsibilities.

Very truly yours,

SUSAN A. MAURIELLO County Administrative Officer

SAM:AJH/ts:s:winner

cc: Each Department Head

Recognition Award Winners

H	eal	th

Duncan Gillies	Clinic Division	Gold-Shared
Will Couchie	Substance Abuse	Gold-Shared
Georgina Ibarra	Public Health	Silver-Shared
Jasmine Najera	Mental Health	Silver-Shared
Robert Swetnam	Administration	Bronze-Shared
Rosanne Chavarria	Administration	Bronze-Shared
Human Services		
Angelica Glass Nancy Virostko Trevor Davis Sonj a Patton Kitty Mitchell	Family Conferencing Family Conferencing Family Conferencing Family Conferencing Family Conferencing	Gold-Shared Gold-Shared Gold-Shared Gold-Shared
Sandor Rodriguez	Foster Care Eligibility Unit	Silver
Gary Adair Oren Pfeffermann Sean McAdam Debbie Taylor Lynn Hunt Stephanie Tully Ethel Lewis Karen Mueller Heidi Schroeder	Staff Development	Bronze-Shared-Tied Bronze-Shared-Tied Bronze-Shared-Tied Bronze-Shared-Tied Bronze-Shared-Tied Bronze-Shared-Tied Bronze-Shared-Tied Bronze-Shared-Tied Bronze-Shared-Tied
Patricia Raven	IHSS Fiscal Unit	Bronze Shared-Tied
Margarita Gonzalez	IHSS Fiscal Unit	Bronze Shared-Tied
Leslie Fine	IHSS Fiscal Unit	Bronze Shared-Tied
Ausilia Rothfuss	IHSS Fiscal Unit	Bronze Shared-Tied

Justice

Scott MacDonaldProbationGold-SharedToni SpencerProbationGold-SharedLaura GarnetteProbationGold-SharedJeff BidmonProbationGold-Shared

Esther Beckman Sheriffs Office Silver-Shared Minerva Ledesma Sheriffs Office Silver-Shared

Linda Bingham Sheriffs Office Bronze

Land Use and Regulatory

Drew Byrne Public Works Gold

Mark Deming Planning Silver

Terry Reynolds Public Works Bronze

General Government

Gail Pellerin Elections Gold-Shared Martin Peaden Elections Gold-Shared

Candace Giles Information Services Silver

Myna Bushman Information Services Bronze-Tied Luis Mendez Transportation Commission Bronze-Tied