0637



County of Santa Cruz

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

701 OCEAN STREET, SUITE 500, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95060-4069 (831) 454-2200 FAX: (831) 454-3262 TDD: (831) 454-2123

JANET K. BEAUTZ
FIRST DISTRICT

WALTER J. SYMONS SECOND DISTRICT MARDI WORMHOUDT
THIRD DISTRICT

TONY CAMPOS FOURTH DISTRICT

JEFF ALMQUIST FIFTH DISTRICT

AGENDA: 9/12/00

August 24, 2000

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS County of Santa Cruz 701 Ocean Street Santa Cruz, CA 95060

RE: MEMBERSHIP OF THE EMERGENCY MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION

Dear Members of the Board:

Attached is a letter from Dr. Terry Lapid, Chair of the Emergency Medical Care Commission, conveying the Commission's unanimous request that the membership of the Commission be expanded to allow simultaneous representation by a representative of Watsonville Hospital and Dominican Hospital. The current membership provisions provide for the appointment of 12 members, with one at-large member representing hospital administrators, a position which has rotated between Dominican and Watsonville Hospitals every four years. As the Commission indicates, with the increasing complexity of health care service delivery and the diverse patient populations served by each of the acute care general hospitals, Commissioners believe that it would be appropriate for each hospital to have a specific appointment to the Commission.

I agree with the Commission that it would be appropriate to expand the membership to allow for concurrent representation by both Dominican and Watsonville Hospitals. Accordingly, I recommend that the Board approve the attached ordinance amending Subsections 2.52.020 (A) and 2.52.020 (C) of the Santa Cruz County Code relating to membership on the Emergency Medical Care

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS August 24, 2000 Page 2

Commission in concept and direct that the ordinance return on our next agenda for final adoption.

Sincerely,

MARDI WORMHOUDT, Chair Board of Supervisors

MW:ted
Attachments

cc: Emergency Medical Care Commission
Health Services Agency Administrator
County Counsel
Sister Julie Hyer, Dominican Hospital
Barry Schneider, Watsonville Hospital

2182A6



ORDINANCE	NO.	
OVDINUNCE	NO.	

ORDINANCE AMENDING SUBDIVISIONS (A) AND (C) OF SECTION 2.52.020 AN-D DELETING SUBDIVISION (C)
OF SECTION 2.52.030 OF THE SANTA CRUZ COUNTY CODE RELATING TO MEMBERSHIP ON THE EMERGENCY MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION

The Board of Supervisors of the County of Santa Cruz ordains as follows:

SECTION I

Subdivision 2.52.020 (A) of the Santa Cruz County Code is hereby amended to read as follows:

A. The Commission shall consist of twelve thirteen members, residents of the county, appointed by the Board of Supervisors.

SECTION II

Subdivision 2.52.020 (C) of the Santa Cruz County Code is hereby amended to read as follows:

C. Five Six members shall be persons appointed on an atlarge basis to represent the following within the county: hospital administrators, one each from Dominican Hospital and Watsonville Community Hospital, ambulance services, the Santa Cruz County Law Enforcement Chiefs Association, the Santa Cruz County Medical Society and the Santa Cruz County Fire Chiefs Association.

SECTION III

Subdivision (C) of Section 2.52.030 is hereby deleted.

SECTION IV

This ordinance shall take effect on the $31^{\rm st}$ day after the date of final passage.

PASSED AND ADOPTED this _____ day of _____ , 2000 by the Board of Supervisors of the County of Santa Cruz by the following vote:

AYES: SUPERVISORS
NOES: SUPERVISORS
ABSENT: SUPERVISORS
ABSTAIN: SUPERVISORS

Chair of the Board of Supervisors

68

ATTEST:

ORDINANCE AMENDING SUBDIVISIONS (A) AND (C) OF SECTION 2.52.020 AND DELETING SUBDIVISION (C) OF SECTION 2.52.030 OF THE SANTA CRUZ COUNTY CODE RELATING TO MEMBERSHIP ON THE EMERGENCY MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION Page 2

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

County Counsel

DISTRIBUTION: County Counsel

Emergency Medical Care Commission Health Services Agency Administrator Administrator, Dominican Hospital

Administrator, Watsonville Community Hospital

2182A6

ORDINANCE AMENDING SUBDIVISIONS (A) AND (C) OF SECTION 2.52.020 AND DELETING SUBDIVISION (C) OF SECTION 2.52.030 OF THE SANTA CRUZ COUNTY CODE RELATING TO MEMBERSHIP ON THE EMERGENCY MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION

The Board of Supervisors of the County of Santa Cruz ordains as follows:

SECTION I

Subsection 2.52.020 (A) of the Santa Cruz County Code is hereby amended to read as follows:

A. The Commission shall consist of thirteen members, residents of the county, appointed by the Board of Supervisors.

SECTION II

Subsection 2.52.020 (C) of the Santa Cruz County Code is hereby amended to read as follows:

C. Six members shall be persons appointed on an at-large basis to represent the following within the county: hospital administrators, one each from Dominican Hospital and Watsonville Community Hospital, ambulance services, the Santa Cruz County Law Enforcement Chiefs Association, the Santa Cruz County Medical Society and the Santa Cruz County Fire Chiefs Association.

SECTION III

Subdivision (C) of Section 2.52.030 is hereby deleted.

SECTION IV

This ordinance shall take effect on the 31"' day after the date of final passage.

	P	ASSED	AND	ADOPTED	this	3		_ day of	E			,	2000
by	the	Board	d of	Supervis	ors	of	the	County	of	Santa	Cruz	by	the
fol	llowi	ing vo	te:										

AYES: SUPERVISORS
NOES: SUPERVISORS
ABSENT: SUPERVISORS
ABSTAIN: SUPERVISORS

Chair of the Board of Supervisor	rs
----------------------------------	----

ATTEST:

Clerk of the Board

68

ORDINANCE AMENDING SUBDIVISIONS (A) AND (C) OF SECTION 2.52.020 AND DELETING SUBDIVISION (C) OF SECTION 2.52.030 OF THE SANTA CRUZ COUNTY CODE RELATING TO MEMBERSHIP ON THE EMERGENCY MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION Page 2

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

County Counsel

DISTRIBUTION: County Counsel

Emergency Medical Care Commission Health Services Agency Administrator Administrator, Dominican Hospital

Administrator, Watsonville Community Hospital

2182A6

0643



SERVICES

County of Santa Cruz

HEALTH SERVICES AGENCY

POST OFFICE BOX 962, 1080 EMELINE AVENUE SANTA CRUZ, CA95061-0962

(831) 454-4120 FAX: (831) 454-4272 TDD: (831) 454-4123

August 14, 2000

Mardi Wormhoudt, Chair Santa Cruz County Board of Supervisors 701 Ocean Street Santa Cruz, CA 95060

Dear Supervisor Wormhoudt,

I am writing you on behalf of the Emergency Medical Care Commission (EMCC) which met in regular session on August 9, 2000. A motion to request the Board of Supervisors to grant both Dominican and Watsonville hospitals permanent representation on the EMCC was made, seconded and unanimously approved.

The hospitals, Commission members, and I believe that simultaneous representation from both hospitals will enhance the ability of the EMCC to advise the Beard on emergency medical systems issues. The hospitals have shared the representation on the EMCC by serving alternating four year terms, but in view of the increasing complexity of health care service delivery and the diverse patient populations served by each of the acute care general hospitals, we would like to see both hospitals permanently represented.

Please feel free to contact me if I can provide additional information that would be of assistance to the Board in considering this request. The EMCC appreciates the work of the Board in providing for emergency medical care in Santa Cruz County and looks forward to continuing to work with you for the benefit of our citizens.

Sincerely,

Terry Lapid, M.D.

Chair, Emergency Medical Care Commission

Temy Lapid M. D. Jun