

County of Santa Cruz 0165

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

701 OCEAN STREET, SUITE 500, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95060-4069 (831) 454-2200 FAX: (831) 454-3262 TDD: (831) 454-2123

JANET K. BEAUTZ
FIRST DISTRICT

ELLEN PIRIE SECOND DISTRICT MARDI WORMHOUDT
THIRD DISTRICT

TONY CAMPOS
FOURTH DISTRICT

JEFF ALMQUIST FIFTH DISTRICT

AGENDA: 2/6/01

January 19, 2001

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS County of Santa Cruz 701 Ocean Street Santa Cruz, CA 95060

RE: ANNUAL REPORT OF THE ENERGY COMMISSION

Dear Members of the Board:

Attached is the Annual Report of the Energy Commission for calendar year 2000. I recommend that the Board accept and file this report and direct the Chairman to thank the members of the Commission for their efforts on the County's behalf.

Sincerely,

TONY CAMPOS Chairman Board of Supervisors

TC:ted

cc: Energy Commission

01165A6

0166



County of Santa Cruz

ENERGY COMMISSION

701 OCEAN STREET - ROOM 330, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95080 (831) 454-2709 FAX: (831) 454-2710

ENERGY COMMISSION ANNUAL REPORT - 2000

1. Role of the Energy Commission

The Energy Commission acts as an advisory body to, and resource for, the County Board of Supervisors. The Commission is charged with recommending policies and action programs designed to increase energy utilization efficiency through planning and building and development practices which are energy-conservative, economically equitable, and functionally compatible with other environmental goals.

2. Meeting Dates, Time and Location

The Energy Commission meets on the third Wednesday of the month at 4:30 p.m. in the Legislative Conference Room located at 701 Ocean Street, Third Floor, Santa Cruz, CA.

3. Commission Structure

The Commission is composed of five members who are residents of the County and who have been appointed by the Board of Supervisors. They are as follows:

District 1	Mr. Hank Pielage (Chairperson), Term expires April 1, 2001
District 2	Vacant
District 3	Mr. Jesse Bregman (Vice-Chairperson), Term expires April I, 2003
District 4	Mr. Dennis Osmer, Term expires April 1, 2003
District 5	Mr. Michael Lussier, Term expires April 1, 2001

4. Commission Staff

The Energy Commission is staffed by the General Services Department.

5. Attendance

See attached roster (Attachment 1) for 2000 Commissioner attendance.

6. Annual Goals and Accomplishments

As in previous years, the Santa Cruz County Energy Commission has provided the Board of Supervisors with recommendations for policies and action programs in the energy area. Specifically, the Commission has addressed the following in 2000:



- Continuing review, updates and recommendations regarding deregulation.
- Recommendations for an action program regarding development of an Energy Emergency/Local Gasoline Rationing Plan.
- Tracking and review of the progress of the Moss Landing Power Plant upgrade project.
- Updating of Commission By-Laws.

 Review of General Services Department's oversight and staffing responsibilities to the Energy Commission.

0167

7. Future Goals

The Energy Commission plans to continue to follow energy deregulation issues and will provide the Board with recommendations as appropriate. Other energy related matters will be discussed by the Commission and recommendations made as these matters arise. Other potential areas to be explored in 2001 include the following:

- Energy uses in transportation including an update on natural gas vehicles, ways **to** become more energy efficient (usage policies, maintenance, fleet mix), community incentives/disincentives, efficiency based vehicle taxes, encourage at the pump payments for hidden vehicle costs offset by general fund tax reductions.
- Review of the County's energy usage and advise on changes to become more energy efficient.

8. Recommendations

The Energy Commission requests that the vacancy for the 2nd District Commissioner be filled as soon as possible.



County of Santa Cruz 0168

ENERGY COMMISSION

701 OCEAN STREET - ROOM 330, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95060 (831) 454-2709 FAX: (831) 454-2710

ATTENDANCE BY COMMISSIONERS - 2000

District 1 District 2 District 3 District 4 District 5		Mr. Hank Pielage (HP) Mr. Jack R. Best (JRB) (Resigned) Mr. Jesse Bregman (JB) Mr. Dennis Osmer (DO) Mr. Michael Lussier (ML)				
DISTRICT	1(HP)	2 (JRB)	3 (JB)	4 (DO)	5 (ML)	
January	x	x	x	x	x	
February	Meeting cancelled - no quorum					
March	Meeting cancelled - no quorum					
April	Meeting cancelled - no quorum					
Мау	Meeting cancelled - no quorum					
June	x	x	*	×	*	
July	Meeting cancelled - no quorum					
August	x	x	*	x	x	
Sept	Meeting cancelled- no quorum					
October	Meeting cancelled - no quorum					
November	x	r	x	x	x	
December	Meeting cancelled - no quorum					

- Present at the meeting Χ
- Resigned
- Unexcused absence from the meeting Excused absence from the meeting