

County of Santa Cruz

COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE 701 OCEAN STREET, SUITE 520, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95060-4073 (831) 454-2100 FAX: (831) 454-3420 TDD: (831) 454-2123 SUSAN A. MAURIELLO, J.D., COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER

February 12, 2001

AGENDA: February 27, 2001

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS County of Santa Cruz 701 Ocean Street Santa Cruz, CA 95060

EMPLOYEE RECOGNITION AWARDS

Dear Members of the Board:

Your Board has established the Employee Recognition Program to show public appreciation for and special recognition to outstanding employees for their service and contributions to the County. The criteria for recognition include, but are not limited to, any of the following:

- A. An employee or group of employees who solve(s) an extraordinary problem for the County;
- B. An employee or group of employees who successfully implement(s) an innovative idea;
- C. An employee or group of employees who do(es) an outstanding act which brings and/or deserves recognition to the County from the public;
- D. An employee who performs his/her work in a manner that deserves special recognition.
- E. Department Heads and Assistant Department Heads do not participate as nominees in this program.

The nomination period was from November 15, 2000 to January 3, 2001 during which time County employees and citizens submitted nominations. The review of nominations and recommendations for awards were made by selection committees in the five categories with the following departmental groupings:

- 1. Health Health Services Agency;
- 2. Human Services Human Resources Agency;
- 3. Justice District Attorney, Courts, Probation and Sheriff-Coroner;
- 4. Land Use & Regulatory Planning, Public Works, Parks Open Spaces and Cultural Services, Agricultural Commissioner, Agricultural Extension, Redevelopment Agency, and Transportation Commission.
- 5. General Government Board of Supervisors' Office, County Administrative Office, County Counsel, Information Services, Auditor-Controller, Assessor, Treasurer-Tax Collector, County Clerk-Recorder, Personnel, General Services and Emergency Services.

Each committee met and recommended the top three candidates for a Gold, Silver or Bronze Award as indicated on Attachment I. Three monetary awards will be given in each of the five categories as follows: \$300 for Gold; \$200 for Silver; and \$100 for Bronze. The first place award or Gold Award winners names will be placed on a plaque that is displayed in the County Government Center. In addition, all employees who were nominated for an award were informed by letter of their nomination.

I am pleased to recommend that your Board present the awards and proclamations to those employees who achieved excellence in the execution of their duties and responsibilities.

Very truly yours,

Sou

SUSAN A. MAURIELLO County Administrative Officer

SAM:AJH/ts:S:\Employee Recognition\z2000WINNERbos.wpd

cc: Each Department Head

ATTACHMENT 1

Recognition Award Winners 2000

<u>Health</u>

Ann Graham Roger Houston Doris White	Administration Environmental Health Mental Health	Gold-Tied Gold-Tied Gold-Tied
Judith Kelley Anita Alvarado	Clinics Clinics	Silver-Tied Silver-Tied
Marcy Abrams Steve Schneider Duncan Gillies Jim Humphreys Ira Schwartz Betsy McCarty Barbara Rice	Public Health Environmental Health Laboratory Administration Public Health Public Health Public Health	Bronze-Shared Bronze-Shared Bronze-Shared Bronze-Shared Bronze-Shared Bronze-Shared
<u>Human Services</u>		
Cheryl Bentley Angelica Glass Kitty Mitchell Nancy Virostko Lori Yellen	Family & Children's Services Family & Children's Services Family & Children's Services Family & Children's Services Family & Children's Services	Gold-Shared Gold-Shared Gold-Shared Gold-Shared Gold-Shared
Kevin Fitzgerald	Administrative Services	Silver
Jim DeAlba Gloria Luna Tony Martinez	Health Administration Benefit Services	Bronze-Shared Bronze-Shared

.

Justice

Amy C hristey	Sheriff's Office	Gold		
Sylvia Nieto Carol Sutherland Trish Tribble Rosa Szabo Kathi Sonntag Lloyd E. Jefferies Therese Valdez-Thomas Marsha Burkett	District Attorney District Attorney District Attorney District Attorney District Attorney District Attorney District Attorney District Attorney	Silver-Shared Silver-Shared Silver-Shared Silver-Shared Silver-Shared Silver-Shared Silver-Shared		
Paul Van Horsen	Sheriff's Office	Bronze		
Land Use and Regulatory				
Bernice Romero	Planning	Gold		
Joyce Alderman Kim Namba	POSCS Redevelopment Agency	Silver-Tied Silver-Tied		
Bettie Shackelford	Planning	Bronze		
<u>General Government</u>				
Diane Moore	Elections	Gold		

Jenny Pederson	General Services	Silver
Jim Owen	Information Services	Bronze-Shared
Armando Gonzalez	Information Services	Bronze-Shared

 $H:\MyFiles\emprecog\FY00-01\2000\winners.wpd$