

County of Santa Cruz 0033

ELECTIONS DEPARTMENT

701 OCEAN STREET, ROOM 210, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95060-4076 (831) 454-2060 FAX: (831) 454-2445 TDD: (831) 454-2123 E-MAIL: gail.pellerin@co.santa-cruz.ca.us Web Site: www.votescount.com

RICHARD W. BEDAL, COUNTY CLERK GAIL L. PELLERIN. ELECTIONS MANAGER

AGENDA: March 12,2002

March 1, 2002

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS County of Santa Cruz 701 Ocean St Santa Cruz, CA 95060

APPOINTMENTS TO CENTRAL COMMITTEES/COUNTY COUNCIL

Dear Members of the Board:

Attached is a resolution calling for the appointment of unopposed candidates who filed Declarations of Candidacy with the Elections Department for the following Central Committees or County Council:

- Democratic Central Committee, 1st District
- Democratic Central Committee, 5th District
- Republican Central Committee, 4th District
- Libertarian Party Central Committee
- Reform Party County Council

Due to an insufficient number of candidates, the Central Committees and County Council did not appear on the March 5, 2002 ballot. The 4th District Democratic Central Committee, American Independent Party Central Committee in all five supervisorial districts and the Natural Law Party Central Committee also did not appear on the ballot because there were no nominees.

Pursuant to Elections Code Section 7228, 7423, 7673, and 7772.1, the Board of Supervisors shall declare elected the candidates who have been nominated, and those candidates shall be entitled to receive certificates of election in the same manner as other candidates elected to a central committee.

It is therefore recommended that the Board of Supervisors:

 ADOPT the resolution declaring elected the unopposed Central Committee and County Council candidates who have filed Declarations of Candidacy for the March 5, 2002 Primary Election.

Sincerely

Richard W. Bedal County Clerk-Recorder

RECOMMENDED:

SUSAN A. MAURIELLO, Chief Administrative Officer

OF THE COUNTY OF SANTA CRUZ STATE OF CALIFORNIA

RESOLUTION NO.

On the motion of Supervisor	

On the motion of Supervisor
Duly seconded by Supervisor
The following Resolution is adopted:

RESOLUTION **OF** THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF SANTA CRUZ, STATE OF CALIFORNIA, DECLARING ELECTED NOMINEES TO THE OFFICE OF MEMBER, COUNTY CENTRAL **COMMITTEE/COUNTY** COUNCIL FOR THEIR RESPECTIVE DISTRICTS AND POLITICAL PARTIES

WHEREAS, the March 5, 2002 Primary Election is a regularly scheduled election day for members of the County Central Committees/County Councils of the seven qualified political parties; and

WHEREAS, the following Central Committees and County Council each have a number of nominees less than or equal to the number of offices to be filled in each central committee or county council; and

WHEREAS, no petition has been filed by 25 registered voters affiliated with the political party indicating that a write-in campaign will be conducted for the office; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Elections Code Section 7228, 7423, 7673, and 7772.1, the Board of Supervisors shall declare elected the candidates who have been nominated, and those candidates shall be entitled to receive certificates of election in the same manner as other candidates elected to a central committee or county council;

WHEREAS, the following named persons are the nominees for the office of Member, Central Committee/County Council for the District and Political Party as set forth:

FIRST SUPERVISORIAL DISTRICT DEMOCRATIC PARTY (5 SEATS) Tim J. Powers Sherri Ilse

FIFTH SUPERVISORIAL DISTRICT DEMOCRATIC PARTY (5 SEATS) John Crosson Les Gardner Gordon Haskell Rachel F. Haskell

FOURTH SUPERVISORIAL DISTRICT REPUBLICAN PARTY (3 SEATS)

Karell Kelley Reader Dale Skillicorn Joe De Hart

AT LARGE LIBERTARIAN PARTY (10 SEATS)

Patrick Dugan Martha E. De Forest O. Robert Welch

AT LARGE REFORM PARTY (7 SEATS)

John A. Mancini

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that pursuant to Elections Code Sections 7228, 7423, 7673, and 7772.1 the Board of Supervisors of the County of Santa Cruz **does** hereby declare elected the herein named nominees who shall take office and serve exactly as if elected at the March 5, 2002 Primary Election for the term prescribed by law.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Boa Cruz, State of California this day of following vote:	rd of Supervisors of the County of Santa of 2002, by the
AYES: NOES: ABSENT: ABSTAIN:	SUPERVISORS SUPERVISORS SUPERVISORS SUPERVISORS
Chairperson of said Board	_
ATTEST: Clerk of said Board	_
APPROVED TO AS FORM:	
County Counsel	_
County Counsel	