## CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION 2011 ATTENDANCE REPORT

### Meeting Dates, Time, and Location

This year the Commission met in January, February (cancelled for lack of quorum), April, May, July, September, and November on the third Thursday at 5:45 p.m. in the Board of Supervisors' Chambers in the County Governmental Center. Additionally, Commissioners hold the first Wednesday afternoon and third Wednesday all day of each month for potential appeal hearings. There were two disciplinary appeal hearings in 2011.

#### **Commission Structure**

The Commission consists of five members, each nominated for full Board approval by each Supervisor. The Commission members in 2011 were: First District, Carmen Potro; Second District, James Maxwell; Third District, Dina Hoffman (appointed December 14, 2010); Fourth District, Olivia Madrigal; and Fifth District, Margaret Leonard.

In January, the Commission elects a Chair and a Vice-Chair for one-year terms. In 2011 the Commission Chair was James Maxwell and the Vice-Chair was Olivia Madrigal.

# <u>Attendance</u> The columns below indicate Commission attendance for 2011:

Meeting	Hoffman	Madrigal	Potro	Maxwell	Leonard
January 20	X	X	A	X	X
March 17	X	X	X	X	A
May 19	Cancelled – no				
	quorum – no				
	agenda				
July 20 Hearing	X		X		X
July 21	Cancelled – no	X	X	X	X
	quorum				
September 15	X	A	X	X	A
November 17	X	X	X	X	A

X = Present; A = Absent

#### **Commission Staff**

The Commission is staffed by the County Personnel Department. Laurie Hill, Senior Personnel Analyst, served as the Commission Secretary. Thornton Kontz served as Commission attorney.