

County of Santa Cruz

HOUSING ADVISORY COMMISSION

701 OCEAN STREET, 4TH FLOOR, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95060 (831) 454-2332 Fax: (831) 454-2131 TDD/TTY: 711

ATTACHMENT I

DRAFT MINUTES

HOUSING ADVISORY COMMISSION

July 7, 2021 Regular Meeting

The meeting was called to order by Chair Rotella at 1:00 pm.

1. ROLL CALL:

Commissioners Present: Bryan Chambers (Vice Chair), John Flaniken, Reed

Geisreiter, Rose Marie McNair, Amanda Rotella (Chair),

Sibley Simon, John Skillicorn, Kent Washburn

Commissioners Excused: None

Commissioners Absent: Bud Carney, Tom Honig

Staff Present: Suzanne Isé, Principal Planner; Porcila Wilson and Tracy

Cunningham, Housing Specialists; Sven Stafford, CAO

Analyst; Daisy Allen, Senior Planner

Public Present: Several

2. Corrections to Agenda: None

3. Oral Communications: John Swift spoke about the delays in getting his final

subdivision map approved.

CONSENT AGENDA

4. Approval of May 6, 2021 Meeting Minutes **Action:** Approve Minutes as Presented.

Motion: Geisreiter Second: McNair

Motion Passed: 7 - 0-3

SCHEDULED AGENDA

5. Approval of Proposed ADU Ordinance:

Action: Recommend the Board of Supervisors approve the Draft Ordinance as written

Motion: Geisreiter Second: Chambers

Motion Passed 8—0—2

6. County 2021-23 Operational Plan Update

Planner Sven Stafford provided an overview of the County's 2021-23 Operation Plan which is a living document aimed at working towards achieving the County's vision, mission, and values. The overview defined embedded equity, equality versus equity ("fairness"), bias and discrimination, race and racism, and outlined the County plan for developing Objectives and Performance Measurement criteria, to reach those goals.

7. Housing Division Updates

Housing Staff provided brief updates on AB 832 which extends the existing state law regarding non-payment of rent as a result of COVID-19 and associated eviction and protections through September 30, 2021.

Commissioner Amanda Rotella announced her resignation from the HAC, as she is moving out of the County.

8. Election of Officers (Chair and Vice Chair)

Action: Nominate Commissioners for Chair and Vice Chair

Brian Chambers nominated Reed Geisreiter for Chair Rose Marie McNair nominated Sibley Simon as Vice Chair

Nominations Passed: 8—0—2

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Rotella adjourned the meeting at 2:30 pm.